Nicolette Writes

Professional Freelance Writer and Stay-at-Home Mom

Exercise, oh… exercise!


Exercise, oh exercise!

I have been trying to figure out this exercise thing for years. I still don’t think I quite get it…
You see, I have been the dedicated runner, got up at 5 and did the half-marathons. I got the knee injuries, from plantar fasciitis (spelling?!) to runner’s knee. I did power walking, surfing and mountain-biking (which I plan to take up again soon). But I don’t think through all these years of exercising I never reached a point where I absolutely LOVED exercising. It’s always been a ‘I HAVE to’, rather than a ‘I WANT to’.

So eventually I just reached a point where the exercising and HAVING to’s freaked me out so much that I stopped. Completely. For a couple of months now I haven’t been exercising at all. I decided I will NOT let this spoil my life. I haven’t forgotten, however, that I do need to get some form of exercise for good health…

But I have realised that exercise doesn’t have to be something ‘mainstream’. I don’t have to do any 10k road running races. I don’t have to do the two oceans or anything wow that says you are fit. I started doing ballet classes at the age of 27! And it is wonderful. No huffing and puffing for me, except when we are doing the skips:-) And yesterday I took our 6 month old miniature dachshund for a walk in the most beautiful park, and it was so much fun, I decided to run! I ran until I couldn’t breathe anymore, and then I just continues with a slow walk, loving the sun on my skin.

And you know what? It was so much fun… I did it again today! I think I am getting what exercise is really all about.

Love
Nicolette

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

